top of page
Search

Getting Settled at School

Updated: Mar 3, 2020


 

I have attended multiple classes and love all of them!


Registering for classes was simple. Before leaving Hawaii in December 2019, UH had me fill out a form checking the boxes of the classes I hoped to take that they would then forward to ICS (International College of Seville) where I would be officially registered by the academic director in Seville.



ICS has a policy where if at least five people do not sign up for a class they offer, it will not be taught. With a student population of only twenty-five this semester, it is not extremely unlikely for this to happen. One of the original four classes I signed up for was Finance of International Trade which would have gone towards my core major classes for a major in finance. Since not enough people signed up for it, it is not being offered but I was still able to take three other international business and finance classes that will count towards my majors.


The only worry I had about classes before leaving for Spain was having no idea what day or time they were going to occur. I had no idea if I would be taking early morning or late night classes. ICS is not able to post a complete class schedule for the entire school until everyone has registered and they see what classes they will and will not teach based on what students signed up for.


The day before I left for Spain when I was notified the finance class was not going to be taught, ICS had a full class schedule ready and I was able to reregister for classes while looking at the schedule and pick a nice 9 AM to 1 PM Monday through Thursday schedule.



These are all of the classes being offered this semester!


ICS made it so simple to register for classes days before instruction began as well as during the first week of instruction for those who wished to transfer into different classes. I liked mine so much I did not want to switch.


For future reference, I would not worry so much about not knowing when classes are taking place before going to Spain since it is so easy to switch later. I had also hoped to be able to take all of my classes on only Tuesday and Thursday to have more days off to travel, but I now see that would have been way too much to take in one day and it is nice to go to school everyday and see people.



My professor for International Business (Above) is the hilarious John Boyle from Scotland. All the classrooms are decorated with beautiful paintings on the walls and have cute little balconies looking out onto the cobblestone streets. My largest class has ten students and smallest has four. There is a ten minute break every fifty minutes of instruction to regroup, go get a coffee, or go outside into the garden for some fresh air.



Sometimes the professors come on day trips or outings to other sights in Seville or cities in Spain, and it's nice to learn from them in an environment outside of the classroom. This photo was taken in the ancient Roman city of Itálica with classmates and two of our professors.



The International College of Seville!








39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page